Lijphart Elections Archive
Austria: Formulaic Matrix
Austria Primary Districts Secondary Districts
Secondary Lists -- (3) Seats unallocated in step 1 are aggregated within each secondary district and distributed by PR-d'Hondt, on the basis of each secondary list's vote (equal to the sum of the remainder votes of the party's constituency lists in the secondary district). Only parties that have won at least one constituency seat in the secondary district are eligible to receive seats at this stage.
Lists (1) Each list receives as many seats as its vote contains full Hare quotas. --
Candidates (2) Seats awarded to lists in step 1 are reallocated to each list's candidates, mostly in accord with list order. (4) Seats awarded to secondary lists in step 2 are reallocated to each list's candidates in accord with list order.
183-member National Council (Nationalrat).