Library Digital Collections

Pauline Oliveros Papers

View Collection Items

Collections »

Pauline Oliveros Papers

About this collection

  • Some items restricted

569 digital objects.


Papers of Pauline Oliveros (1932-2016), American experimental musician, composer and key figure in the development of contemporary electronic music. Oliveros was a founding member of the San Francisco Tape Music Center, a resource for electronic music in the 1960s. Later, the Center moved to Mills College and became the Center for Contemporary Music where Oliveros was the Center's first director. In 1967, Oliveros accepted a faculty position at the University of California, San Diego. From 1976-1979 Oliveros served as the director of the Center for Music Experiment (CME), later renamed The Center for Research in Computing and the Arts (CRCA) at UC San Diego.

The collection contains Oliveros' original writings, compositions, correspondence and sketches; it also includes interviews, programs and reviews, teaching materials, and writings about and relating to Oliveros' work.

Oversized materials, including many original scores and compositions, are not included in this digital collection. The Oliveros estate retains copyright to her musical works and arrangements, and these materials may only be viewed by registered users through the Library’s Virtual Reading Room service. All other materials in the collection may be viewed without restriction.

Creation Date
  • 1937-1983
Location Of Originals

From the Pauline Oliveros papers. MSS 102. Special Collections & Archives, UC San Diego.

Corporate Name
Personal Name


View formats within this collection

  • English
Related Resource