

## Four UC San Diego Professors Elected Members of Prestigious American Academy of Arts and Sciences

April 19, 2009

Judy Piercey

Four University of California, San Diego faculty members are among the two hundred and twenty-nine leaders in the sciences, the humanities and the arts, business, public affairs and the nonprofit sector who have been elected members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The new Fellows and Foreign Honorary Members announced today join one of the world's most prestigious honorary societies. A center for independent policy research, the Academy celebrates the 230th anniversary of its founding this year.

Included in this year's class are the following UC San Diego faculty members:

**William James McGinnis**, Distinguished Professor, Section of Cell and Developmental Biology; Herbert Stern Chair in Biology

**Kimberly A. Prather**, Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry; Professor, Scripps Institution of Oceanography

Joel Sobel, Professor of Economics

**Forman Arthur Williams**, Professor of Engineering, Physics and Combustion; Director, Center for Energy and Combustion Research

A complete list of the 2010 class of new members can be accessed at the American Academy of Arts and Sciences at www.amacad.org. The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on Oct. 9 at the Academy's headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.

The honored scholars, scientists, jurists, writers, artists, civic, corporate and philanthropic leaders include winners of the Nobel, Pulitzer and Shaw Prizes; MacArthur and Guggenheim fellows; and Grammy, Tony and Oscar Award winners.

Established in 1780 by John Adams and other founders of the nation, the Academy undertakes studies of complex and emerging problems. Its membership of scholars and practitioners from many disciplines and professions gives the organization a unique capacity to conduct a wide range of interdisciplinary, long-term policy research. Current projects focus on science and technology; global security; social policy and American institutions; the humanities and culture; and education.

"We are pleased to welcome these distinguished individuals into the Academy," said Leslie Berlowitz, American Academy of Arts and Sciences chief executive officer and William T. Golden chair. "We look forward to drawing on their knowledge and expertise to provide practical policy solutions to the pressing issues of the day."

"The men and women we elect today are true pathbreakers who have made unique contributions to their fields, and to the world," said Louis W. Cabot, Academy chair and vice president. "The Academy honors them and their work, and they, in turn, honor us."

Since its founding by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock and other scholar-patriots, the Academy has elected leading "thinkers and doers" from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the eighteenth century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the nineteenth, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the twentieth. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.

Media Contact: Judy Piercey, 858-534-6128, jpiercey@ucsd.edu







