



UCSD awards honors and prizes to outstanding graduates at this years commencement ceremonies

June 26, 1991

Contact: Alixandra Williams, 534-3120

UCSD AWARDS COMMENCEMENT HONORS AND PRIZES TO OUTSTANDING GRADS

Graduation ceremonies for four colleges at the University of California, San Diego were highlighted with the conferring of special awards and honors in addition to the more than 2,325 undergraduate degrees handed out Sunday, June 16.

The UCSD colleges conferring undergraduate degrees were Revelle, Muir, Third and Warren. Fifth College, which opened its doors three years ago, will have its first graduating class next year.

Third College graduates' awards include the Department of Biology's Outstanding Achievement Award to Theresa Maria Hurford who majored in animal physiology; Department of Literature's Sigurd Burckhardt Prize to Matthew Laurence Heller who majored in English and American literatures; Department of Music's Outstanding Achievement Award to Mark Kevin Osborn who majored in music composition; Department of Theatre's Highest Distinction Award to Sharone Mendes-Nassi who majored in theatre, and Department of Anthropology A. Irving Hallowell Award to Isabel Tien Fauconnier who had a double major in anthropology and economics.

Other Third College winners are, from Sociology, the Outstanding Undergraduate Research Paper Award to Erika Stille; Antonio K. Liu for the Third College Provost's Award for exemplary academic achievement; Misa Schagane for the Dean's Award for outstanding service in the college's tradition, and Ron Michael Lycan for the Academic Advising Student Leadership Award. Cecilia Anne Nepomuceno was awarded the UCSD Oceanids Award for outstanding service to the college; Darci E. Burrell was awarded the UCSD Alumni Award for outstanding commitment to the college and to UCSD, and Sunil Arvind Bhopal was voted by his peers to receive the Third College Outstanding Senior Award for scholarly achievement and for best representing the college's ideals.

Revelle College graduates' awards include the Provost's Academic Excellence Award to Renee B. Adams who majored in mathematics; Colleen L. Bailey who majored in biochemistry and cell biology; Leslie H. Bruvold who majored in political science, and Alex S. Carcamo who majored in biochemistry and cell biology. The Outstanding Academic and Leadership award went to Danny A. Osman, valedictorian, who majored in computer science and psychology. The UCSD Alumni Association Award went to Tracy L. Johnson who majored in biochemistry; the UCSD Oceanids Award for Outstanding Service was given to Bradley M. Fields who majored in quantitative economics and decision sciences.

Other awards given to Revelle graduates are the Shang-keng Ma Award to Karen L. Dean who majored in physics. The Joel Dean Award was given to Gary D. Painter who majored in quantitative economics and decision sciences.

Warren College graduates' awards include the Provost's Scholarship Award to Ka Ming Chan; the Dean's Service Award for Outstanding Service to the Warren College Community to Stephen Jeffery LaBonge and

Christine M. Marchetta; the UCSD Oceanids Award for Outstanding Service to the UCSD Community to Lisa R. Flaig; the UCSD Alumni and Friends Award to Thomas Alexander Ludwig; the Michael Addison Award for Outstanding Research Paper in the Warren Scholars Program to Aimee Wyatt.

Other Warren College awards include the Vice Chancellor's Award for Outstanding Community Service to Caroline Sheryl Allam; the Eric Paul Allison Award for Outstanding Philosophy Graduate to Ilya B. Farber; the Jacob Bronowski Award for Outstanding Theatre Graduate to Christina Sibul; the Armin Rappaport Prize for Outstanding History Graduate to Marisa Michelle Smith, and the Harold C. Urey Award for Excellence in Chemistry to Bryant H. Yang.

Muir College graduates' awards include the Outstanding Muir Scholar Award to co-winners Katherine Moran, Amy Underwood, Tamara Wright and Cheryl Reed; the UCSD Alumni Award to Tom Allumbaugh, and the Sanford Lakoff Prize in Political Science to Trevor Nakagawa.

Other Muir awards include the Joseph E. Mayer Award for Outstanding Research in Chemistry to Allen Borchardt; the Seymour Harris Award in Economics to David Arenz and the Outstanding Achievement Award in Biology to Katherine Moran, Amy Underwood and Tamara Wright.

(June 26, 1991)