Five research fellowship awards presented to UCSD faculty

JCSanDiego ELEAS

July 10, 1968

Research fellowship awards were recently presented to four members of the Biology Department and one member of the Chemistry Department at the University of California, San Diego, by the National Institute of General Medical Sciences.

Dr. Edward A. Deutsch of the Chemistry Department and Dr. Lee H. Pratt, Dr. John G. Moner, Pierre A. Henkart and Kenneth D. Nadler of the Biology Department are five of the 2300 fellows supported by the National Institute of General Medical Sciences, one of the eight National Institutes of Health, through its predoctoral, postdoctoral, and special fellowships and its research career program.

Dr. Detusch's principal area of research is "A Noncoordination Buffer." Dr. Pratt's principal area of research is "Chemical and Physical Studies of Phytochrome." "Heat and D20 Effects on RNA Metabolism and Cell Division" is Dr. Moner's principal area of research.

Henkart's principal area of research is "Studies on Sponge Aggregation Factor." "The Biochemical Control of Meiosis and Mitosis" is Nadler's principal area of research.

These fellowships were awarded in national competition and following review by two groups of distinguished consultants. The research fellowship program of the National Institute of General Medical Sciences enables individuals of competence and potential to advance in their scientific fields.