

NSF Fellowships awarded for the 1964-65 academic year

March 31, 1964

The National Science Foundation has awarded the University of California, San Diego, 18 Cooperative Fellowships for the 1964-65 academic year.

The award represents a considerable compliment to UCSD's graduate students and to its course of instruction, says Norris W. Rakestraw, Dean of the Graduate Division.

Recipients of the Cooperative Fellowships will be given grants ranging from \$2,400 to \$2,800 for their year's study.

The fellowships bring to 57 the number available to UCSD's graduate students in the sciences. There are as yet no fellowships in the humanities, although graduate students are being enrolled in those areas.

Those receiving fellowships are:

Laurence J. Campbell, Physics

John H. Chalmers, Biology

Lewis H. Cohen, Earth Sciences

Daniel L. Drake, Biology

William B. Dress, Physics (has withdrawn from UCSD)

Peter J. Feibelman, Physics

Michael P. Greene, Physics

Dennis R. Hafemann, Chemistry

Gerald S. Manning, Chemistry

David L. McKenzie, Physics (enrolling this fall)

Gerald B. Morris, Earth Sciences

Terence M. Murphy, Biology (enrolling this fall)

William L. Preslan, Oceanography (enrolling this fall)

Arnold I. Sherwood, Physics

Jeff E. Siegel, Biology (enrolling this fall)

Robert H. Stewart II, Oceanography

H. Lee Watson, Physics

Mary A. Watson, Mathematics (enrolling this fall)