



Thirteen students at UCSD receive graduate fellowships from National Science Foundation

April 8, 1963

Thirteen students at the University of California, San Diego, will continue their work during the coming academic year under newly-awarded graduate fellowships from the National Science Foundation, Chancellor Herbert York announced today.

In addition, two new students will receive fellowships.

The awards are among 3,180 announced by the Foundation, which is a scientific agency of the United States Government. Several UCSD students are currently receiving support from the Foundation, Norris Rakestraw, Graduate Dean, said.

UCSD will also have its first Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship student next year. The Woodrow Wilson National Fellowships Foundation, supported since 1957 by grants totalling \$52 million from the Ford Foundation, has recently awarded 1,475 fellowships.

The National Science Foundation awards are of two types, Cooperative Graduate Fellowships and Regular Graduate Fellowships. Each carries the san stipend for the student, \$200 a month. The Cooperative Fellowships are awarded to the university on behalf of the students. The Regular Fellowships are presented directly to the students.

Students winning the Cooperative Graduate Fellowships were Laurence J. Campbell, physics; John H. Chalmers, Jr., biology; Lewis H. Cohen, earth sciences; Peter J. Feibelman (new student), physics; Michael P. Greene, physics; Gerald S. Manning, biochemistry; Arnold I. Sherwood, physics; Russell L. Snyder, oceanography; and H. Lee Watson, Jr., physics.

Winners of the Regular Graduate Fellowships were Elaine R. Brooks, marine biology; Ludwig H. Bruch, physics; Tareah J. Hendricks, physics; Jo R. Jordan, chemistry; Richard L. Morse, physics; and Richard R. Strathmann (new student), physics.

Winner of the Woodrow Wilson fellowship was Richard M. Lindstrom (new student), chemistry.