

Eight UCSD professors elected to prestigious Academy of Arts and **Sciences**

May 8, 1996

Media Contact: Dolores Davies, (619) 534-5994

Eight faculty members from the University of California, San Diego have been elected Fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The new Fellows are: Gary Cox, professor of political science; Sige-Yuki Kuroda, professor of linguistics; Michael Levine, professor of biology; Jean Mandler, professor of cognitive science; Richard Salmon, professor at Scripps Institution of Oceanography; Larry Squire, professor of psychiatry; Harry Suhl, professor of physics; and Robert Terry, professor of neuroscience.

The academy was founded in 1780 to honor achievements in science, scholarship, the arts, and public affairs. According to an academy spokesperson, an individual's election to the academy signifies recognition of their distinguished contributions in their field of study, and is the result of an extensive review and selection process involving the entire membership of the academy.

(May 8, 1996)