

Dr. Joseph Mayer winner of James Flack Norris Award

July 21, 1969

Dr. Joseph E. Mayer, professor of chemistry at the University of California, San Diego, has been selected to receive the Northeastern Section's James Flack Norris Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Teaching of Chemistry for 1969.

The award, given by the American Chemical Society, will be presented during a Society meeting at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology on November 13. The award will consist of \$1,000 and a scroll.

A native of New York, Dr. Mayer received his B.S. degree in 1924 from the California Institute of Technology and his Ph.D. in 1927 from the University of California at Berkeley. He has taught at Johns Hopkins University, Columbia University and the University of Chicago. He has been a member of the UCSD faculty since 1960.

Dr. Mayer's principal research interests have been in quantum mechanics and statistical mechanics applied to chemical systems. He is particularly noted for his development of the statistical mechanics of imperfect gases, which led to his theory of condensation.

Dr. Mayer's other awards include the John Gamble Kirkwood Medal, Yale University, 1967; the Peter Debye Award in Physical Chemistry, American Chemical Society, 1967; the Charles Frederick Chandler Medal, Columbia University, 1966; and the Gilbert Newton Lewis Medal, American Chemical Society, Northern California Section, 1958.