

Three UCSD faculty chosen to receive Presidential Young Investigator **Awards**

July 31, 1990

Media Contact: Yvonne Baskin, (619) 534-0362

THREE UCSD FACULTY WIN PRESIDENTIAL YOUNG INVESTIGATOR AWARDS

The National Science Foundation has selected three faculty members at the University of California, San Diego to receive Presidential Young Investigator awards.

The awards are designed "to help universities attract and retain outstanding young Ph.D. scientists who might otherwise pursue non-teaching careers." Each investigator can receive up to \$100,000 per year for five years through a combination of federal and private industry matching funds.

The three UCSD faculty members are:

- --Anne Hoger, assistant professor of applied mechanics and engineering sciences, who specializes in mechanics and stress analysis
- --Kenneth Kreutz-Delgado, also an assistant professor of applied mechanics and engineering sciences, whose expertise is in robotics
 - --David B. Kaplan, assistant professor of physics, whose specialty is theoretical high energy particle physics

Their selection brings to 11 the number of UCSD faculty who have received Presidential Young Investigator awards since the program was announced in 1983.

(July 31, 1990)