

4 UCSD students win NSF Fellowships

May 6, 1985

FOUR UCSD STUDENTS WIN SCIENCE FELLOWSHIPS

Four undergraduate students at the University of California, San Diego have been awarded graduate fellowships for the 1985-86 academic year by the National Science Foundation. They are among 540 students nationwide to be tapped by NSF to pursue advanced degrees in the natural and social sciences, mathematics and engineering.

The fellowships provide a stipend of \$11,100 per year for three years of graduate study. The institution selected by each fellow will receive an annual cost-of-education allowance of \$6,000 from NSF in lieu of tuition.

The students, their majors and the schools they plan to attend are: Laurence Shaw, physics, Cornell University; David Michael Spencer, chemistry, Stanford School of Medicine; Charles Allen Stafford, physics, Princeton University, and Carolyn Marie Warner, political science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

At the same time, 12 newly selected NSF fellows from other institutions throughout the country have elected to attend UCSD in the fall.

The incoming students and the universities they presently attend are: Sabine Elisabeth Apitz, California State University, Fullerton; Elizabeth Crabb, San Francisco State University; John Jeffrey Hallman, Northern Illinois University; Jay Matthew Krueger, UC Berkeley; Christopher Jun D. Mau, UC Davis; Nancy Jo Newman, UC Santa Barbara; Linda Grace Slanec, Kenyon College; Timothy Mark Scherer, Northwestern University; Erik Thorson Brown, Princeton University; Michael Edwin Glinsky, Case Western Reserve; Wendy Lou H. Ryan, Michigan State University, and Jeffrey Scott Gee, Eastern Virginia Medical School.

(May 6, 1985) For more information contact: Susan Pollock, 452-3120