

January 22, 1996

Media contact: Pat JaCoby, 534-7404

AWARDS PRESENTED TO FOUR UCSD FACULTY MEMBERS

Four University of California, San Diego faculty members will be presented Awards for Excellence by the UCSD Chancellor's Associates during a meeting Jan. 31 at the Faculty Club.

The awards will be presented for:

Excellence in teaching--Stephen M. Baird, M.D., professor of Clinical Pathology, recognized as one of the most outstanding teachers at the UCSD School of Medicine. He has developed a creative and entertaining curriculum in clinical pathology with the use of numerous musical interludes in which he combines the complexity of his subject matter with the simplicity of rhyme.

Excellence in research--Elizabeth L. Barrett-Connor, M.D., department chair and professor of Family and Preventive Medicine, who is a leading expert in the field of epidemiology. The results of her research in the acclaimed Rancho Bernardo population study been applied worldwide and opened new avenues of discovery have in the causes and prevention of cardiovascular disease.

Excellence in community service--Sally K. Ride, whose exemplary commitment to community service extends from UCSD to the San Diego community and beyond. As a professor of physics and Director of the California Space Institute, she has actively participated on the boards of several national science organizations and volunteered countless hours speaking to children about research and education in the field of space science.

Excellence in the arts--Eleanor Antin, an exceptional artist at the forefront of the Conceptual Art movement. She is considered one of the innovators of performance art and her unique work continues to influence contemporary artists.

The 5 p.m. meeting will be conducted by William Beamer, Chancellor's Associates president. The awards will be presented by Interim UCSD Chancellor Marjorie C. Caserio and Darlene Shiley, chairman of the Faculty Awards Selection Committee.

Other members of the committee included Gail Stoorza Gill, Phyllis Epstein, Joanne Warren, Dixie Unruh, Martin Shapiro, Kern Kenyon and Patrick O'Day.

(January 22, 1996)