

## Six UCSD faculty members elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences

## **April 23, 1974**

Six faculty members from the University of California, San Diego have been elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest honors that can come to any American scientist.

The six are: Dr. E. Peter Geiduschek, professor of biology; Dr. Roger C. L. Guillemin, adjunct professor of medicine at the UCSD School of Medicine and a fellow and director of the neuroendocriosology laboratory at the Salk Institute for Biological Studies; John D. Isaacs, director of the University of California's Institute of Marine Resources headquartered at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography and professor of oceanography and director of the Marine Life Research Program at SIO; Dr. Norman M. Kroll, professor of physics; Dr. Dan L. Lindsley, professor of biology; and Dr. Hans J. Muller Eberhard, adjunct professor of pathology at the School of Medicine and chairman of the molecular immunology department at Scripps Clinic and Research Foundation.

The six new members bring UCSD's total National Academy of Sciences membership to 42. The ratio of members to total faculty is one of the highest, if not the highest, in the country.

In all, 95 new members and 12 international associates were elected at the Academy's 111th annual meeting in Washington, D.C., bringing the Academy's total membership to 1,077. Of those elected, 14 were from University of California campuses. In addition to UCSD's members, four were elected from UC Berkeley, two from UC San Francisco, and one each from UC Santa Barbara and UCLA.

Biographies of the six newly elected National Academy of Sciences members from UCSD are attached.

(April 23, 1974)