

Winners of the High School Honors Math Contest announced

May 23, 1988

Media Contact: Yvonne Baskin, (619) 534-3120

HIGH SCHOOL MATH CONTEST WINNERS ANNOUNCED

Winners of the 31st Annual High School Honors Mathematics Contest were announced Monday night (May 23) at an awards banquet at the University of California, San Diego Faculty Club.

In team competition La Jolla High School took first place in the city; Helix was number one in the county; and Bishop's School led the small school division.

In individual competition, Michael Jablecki, La Jolla High, placed first, followed by Andy Bocko, Helix, second; Bruce Wollman, Patrick Henry, third; Erik Bliss, Helix, fourth; and, tied for fifth, Tom Hsiu of Poway and Richard Lin of La Jolla.

Among the teams, Patrick Henry and Madison placed second and third, respectively, in the city; Poway and Rancho Buena Vista ranked second and third, respectively, in the county; and Francis Parker and San Diego were runners up in the small schools team division.

The contest, a San Diego tradition started by Convair Corporation, has been sponsored for the past 20 years as a joint venture of the UCSD Department of Mathematics and the Greater San Diego Mathematics Council.

This year 110 students were chosen by their high school teachers to compete in the May 14 contest as members of school teams. Names of the winners were kept secret until the awards banquet.

The contest consists of two exams, each lasting an hour and a half. The exams, written by the UCSD math faculty, are designed to test mathematical reasoning ability.

"New exams are written each year, and previous exams are widely circulated," said contest coordinator and math professor John J. Wavrik. "We hope that the contest will not only encourage good students, but will provide all students with some ideas to think about."

(May 23, 1988)