

UCSD to present Distinguished Service Award to San Diegans Judith and Neil Morgan

October 20, 1995

Media Contact: Pat JaCoby, 534-7404

UCSD TO PRESENT DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD TO SAN DIEGANS JUDITH AND NEIL MORGAN

In recognition of their outstanding contributions of time, resources and creativity, Judith and Neil Morgan have been designated recipients of the 1995 UCSD Chancellor's Associates Distinguished Service Medal.

The award will be presented during an Oct. 25 Chancellor's Associates meeting at UCSD's Graduate School of International Relations and Pacific Studies, beginning at 5 p.m.

William F. Beamer, Chancellor's Associates chair, will present the award, which notes Judith Morgan's time, advice and counsel to the University as a member of the Board of Overseers, and Neil Morgan's longtime enthusiastic support of the University in his writing and his guest appearances.

"Judith and Neil Morgan are loyal friends who have nurtured the relationship between the University and the community with vigor and distinction," the citation reads.

Guest speaker at the meeting will be Kent R. Wilson, professor of chemistry, who will illustrate "Multimedia Teaching and Learning." Chancellor Marjorie C. Caserio will greet guests.

Ann F. Ratner also was a recipient of the 1995 Distinguished Service Medal, presented during a spring meeting.

Past recipients include Dean R. Dunphy, Dorothea and David Garfield and Walter J. Zable, 1994; Audrey S. Geisel and Leo R.B. Henrikson, 1993; Helen and Sol Price, Ellen Revelle and Darlene and Donald Shiley, 1992; James S. DeSilva, Jack M. Farris and Shirley J. and David M. Rubel, 1990.

Also Rose and Patrick Patek and Dixie Unruh, 1989; Jerome S. Katzin and Maxine White, 1988; George L. Gildred and Richard C. Levi, 1987; Ida and Cecil Green, Gerald Warren and Viviane Warren, 1986; Anne Otterson and Florence Riford, 1984, and Theodore E. Gildred and James U. Lemke, 1983.

(October 20, 1995)