

13 Assistant Professors To Receive 2005-2006 Hellman Faculty Fellows **Awards**

May 19, 2005

Jan Jennings

Thirteen assistant professors at UCSD have been named recipients of the 2005-2006 Hellman Faculty Fellows Awards to support their research and creative activities.

Recipients in the Physical and Life Sciences Division and the Jacobs School of Engineering are Yoshihisa Kobayashi, chemistry and biochemistry; James Nieh, ecology, behavior and evolution; Pamela Reinagel, neurobiology; Glenn Tesler, mathematics, and Nuno Vasconcelos, electrical and computer engineering.

Recipients in the Arts and Humanities and Social Sciences Divisions are Jonathan Cohen, philosophy; Karen Ferree, political science; Camille Forbes, literature; Fonna Forman-Barzilai, political science; Esra Ozyurek, anthropology; Roberto Tejada, visual arts; Shahrokh Yadegari, theatre and dance, and Elana Zilberg, communication.

Funded by Chris and Warren Hellman, the Hellman Faculty Fellows Awards are given to support the research and creative activities of promising assistant professors who show capacity for great distinction in their work.

Media Contact: Jan Jennings (858) 822-1684