

8 faculty members win Guggenheim fellowships

April 7, 1972

FOR RELEASE FRIDAY, APRIL, 1972

Eight members of the faculty of the University of California, San Diego have been granted fellowships by the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation. They are among 372 scholars, scientists and artists chosen by the foundation's selection committee from among 2,506 applicants in the forty-eighth annual Guggenheim competition.

The UCSD recipients and their projects are:

- Dr. William R. Frazer, professor of physics and chairman of the UCSD Academic Senate, for studies in high-energy theoretical physics.
 - Dr. J. Freeman Gilbert, professor of geophysics, for geophysical studies on earth structure.
- Dr. Martin D. Kamen, professor of chemistry and chairman, department of chemistry, for experimental studies in the biochemistry of redox systems in photosynthesis.
- Dr. Paul A. Libby, professor of aerospace engineering and associate dean, Office of Graduate Studies & Research, for theoretical studies in fluid dynamics.
 - Dr. Dan L. Lindsley, Jr., professor of biology, for experimental studies in Drosoghila cytogenetics.
- Dr. Avrum Stroll, professor of philosophy and chairman, department of philosophy, for studies in statements and propositions.
- Dr. Charles W. Van Atta, associate professor of engineering physics and oceanography, for studies of the statistical structure of fluid turbulence.
- Dr. Herbert F. York, professor of physics, former UCSD chancellor, and dean, Office of Graduate Studies & Research (on leave), for research and writing on the technology, politics and strategy of the nuclear arms race, 1939-1971.

With eight fellows on this year's list, UCSD ranks seventh in the nation among 96 colleges and universities represented, tying with Princeton University for seventh place and outranking Yale University by one. The other top-ranking institutions were UC-Berkeley, with 24; Harvard, 22, Stanford, 15, Cornell, 13, University of Chicago and Columbia University, tying with 12, and University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Massachusetts Institute of Technology, tying with 11.

Fellowships totalling \$3,819,100 were awarded to the 372 winners on the basis of "demonstrated accomplishment in the past and strong promise for the future." The majority of the recipients are teachers, although many short-story writers, poets, playwrights, choreographers, photographers, film-makers and other artists also are included in the current list.

The committee of selection consisted of Dr. Mark Kac, professor of mathematics, Rockefeller University; Dr. Arthur Kornberg, professor of biochemistry, Stanford University School of Medicine; Dr. W. F. Libby, professor of chemistry, UCLA; Dr. Robert K. Merton, professor of sociology, Columbia University, chairman; Dr. Charles Muscatine, professor of English, UC-Berkeley; Dr. Marcus M. Rhoades, professor of botany, Indiana University, and Dr. Samuel E. Thorne, professor of legal history, Harvard University.

(April 7, 1972)