

1995 San Diego Film Festival award winners announced

June 8, 1995

Media contact: Jan Jennings, (619) 534-8687

1995 SAN DIEGO FILM FESTIVAL AWARD WINNERS ANNOUNCED

Two film makers from Hong Kong have received top awards in the 1995 San Diego Film Festival sponsored by the University Events Office of the University of California, San Diego.

Yim Ho was selected by the Festival committee to receive the Festival Award for Best Film for "The Day the Sun Turned Cold." Yee Tung-sing is the recipient of the Patron's Award for Best Film for "C'est la Vie Mon Cherie." The Patron's Award is voted upon by members of the audience.

A Special Achievement Award was given to Dave Borthwick, from England, for "The Secret Adventures of Tom Thumb."

Other Special Achievement Awards went to Rena Owen, New Zealand, for best actress in "Once were Warriors," and Tibor Mahe, Hungary, for best cinematography in "Woyzeck."

The Festival Award for Best Short Film went to Robin Hessman and James Longley of Massachusetts for "Portrait of Boy with Dog."

Thirty-two feature films and 18 short films were premiered during UCSD's 10th annual San Diego Film Festival. Award winners receive an etched crystal trophy.

"The winners for Best Short Film also receive a cash award of \$750 to encourage them both financially and creatively in their work," said David Hunter, festival Associate Director.

(June 8, 1995)