

UCSD honors and awards

August 9, 1984

NOTE TO EDITORS

There recently have been a number of honors and awards given to University of California, San Diego faculty members. In an effort to cut down on the flow of paper, we have grouped several names into a single report for use now or for future reference.

Mark J. Machina, assistant professor of economics, and Jorge E. Hirsch, assistant professor of physics, are among 90 young scientists and economists from throughout the United States and Canada who were recently selected to receive Sloan Research Fellowships by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. Machina and Hirsch will each receive awards of \$25,000 with their fellowships.

Jean Y.J. Wang of the UCSD Department of Biology is one of twenty people who, because of their innovative and productive careers in biomedical science, has been named a Searle Scholar by the Executive Committee of the Chicago Community Trust. She will receive \$157,000 in support of her research, to be paid during the period of July 1, 1984 through June 30, 1987.

David D. Laitin, associate professor of political science, was named a fellow by by the Administrative Board of the George A. and Eliza Gardner Howard Foundation at Brown University for the 1984-85 fellowship year. The award carries a \$15,000 grant. Laitin is also one of 12 scholars from throughout the United States to be named a fellow of the German Marshall Fund of the United States. The awards are given to scholars for research on significant contemporary economic, political, and social developments involving the United States and Europe. Laitin is the only scholar from California to be named a fellow. His German Marshall Fund research will deal with the fact that several North American and West European states are no longer seeking to promote linguistic homogeneity within their borders. The research will focus mainly on Spain and the U.S.

Richard Emery Lingenfelter, research physicist at the Center for Astrophysics and Space Sciences, has been elected a fellow of The American Physical Society for pioneering work in the astrophysics of cosmic ray interactions, particularly in the field of theoretical gamma-ray line astronomy.

Charles W. Van Atta, professor in the Department of Applied Mechanics and Engineering Sciences, has been elected a fellow of The American Physical Society for contributions to experimental turbulence including conditional sampling and digital techniques and their application to the study of spectral energy transfer, the influence of coherent structures, the role of internal intermittency and the characteristics of turbulence in stratified fluids.

Paul D. Saltman, professor of biology, has been selected as an exceptional achievement winner and one of the eight finalists for the 1984 National Professor of the Year. The grand winner, selected by the judges at the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, will be named in mid-August in conjunction with publicity for National Higher Education Week, October 13-20, 1984.

Louis A. Montrose, a professor in the UCSD Department of Literature, was named a Marta Sutton Weeks fellow by the Stanford Humanities Center. He and other fellows will meet at Stanford regularly during the year

where they will pursue their individual work in the collegial environment of the center. Montrose will teach a fall quarter colloquium on "Elizabethan Court Culture." The Center will mark the third year of its fellowship program in 1984-85. The fellowships are largely supported by grants from the Pew Memorial Trust, the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, and by gifts from Marta Sutton Weeks, William R. Kimball, and Barbara Kimball Browning.

Oreste Piccioni, professor in of physics, was guest of honor along with other distinguished physicists at the national convention of the 50th anniversary of the Fermi theory. The event was held at the Palazzo d'Accursio, Bologna, Italy, April 26-28, 1984. The guests of honor were presented with a painting by the Italian artist Bruno Saetti, and a book with reprints of the major contributions by the guests of honor was published by the Italian Physical Society. Among the group were E. Amaldi, G. Bernardini, G. Occhialini, and B. Pontecorvo.

Sanford A. Schane, professor of linguistics, has been named a fellow in law and linguistics at Harvard Law School for one year. After acquiring a foundation in law and legal argumentation during the period of the fellowship, Professor Schane plans to pursue his research interests in language and the law.

For more information contact: Alixandra Williams, 452-3120

(August 9, 1984)