

Four faculty members from UCSD elected to membership in the National **Academy of Sciences**

April 24, 1973

Four faculty members from the University of California, San Diego have been elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest honors that can come to any American scientist.

The four are: Dr. Andrew A. Benson, Professor of Biology at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography; Dr. J. Freeman Gilbert, Professor of Geophysics at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography; Dr. Stanley L. Miller, Professor of Chemistry; and Dr. Jarvis E. Seegmiller, Professor of Medicine in the UCSD School of Medicine.

The four new members bring UCSD's total National Academy of Sciences membership to 36. The ratio of members to total faculty is one of the highest, if not the highest, in the country.

In all, 95 new members were elected at the Academy's annual meeting bringing the Academy's total membership to just over 1,000. Of those elected, 13 were from University of California campuses. In addition to UCSD's members, three were elected from the Berkeley campus, and two each from the Davis, San Francisco, and UCLA campuses.

Biographies of the four newly elected National Academy of Sciences members from UCSD are attached.

(April 24, 1973)