

Winners of the 30th Annual High School Honors Math Contest sponsored by UCSD and Greater San Diego Mathematics Council

May 18, 1987

Media Contact: Paul Lowenberg, 534-3120

EDITORS:

Attached is a list of the winners of the 30th Annual High School Honors Math Contest sponsored by the University of California, San Diego and the Greater San Diego Mathematics Council.

The winners were announced May 16 during an awards banguet hosted by the office of the UCSD Chancellor. The actual contest was held May 9 and consisted of two 2 1/2 hour examinations. The first part was multiple choice and was used to determine team standings while the second part was four written questions and determined the individual winners.

For further information contact: John Wavrik, associate professor of mathematics, 534-2626.

30th Annual High School Honors Math Contest

Team Awards

City County Small

1st - La Jolla Helix, Bishop's-

2nd - Gompers Poway, Francis Parker

3rd - Univ of San Diego Orange Glen, Academy of Our Lady of Peace

Individual Awards

1 MICHAEL JABLECKI LA JOLLA 178

2 LAURA MAGDE GOMPERS 136

3 ALEX SHAPIRO HELIX 122

4 RICHARD LIN LA JOLLA 115

5 ANDY BOCKO HELIX 114

6 ED GATLEY HELIX 112

7 SETH PADOWITZ GOMPERS 111

8 DAVID BRODY LA JOLLA 109

9 ERIC PROSSER VISTA 108

10 BEN GIESE GROSSMONT 105

11 BRUCE WOLLMAN PATRICK HENRY 104

12 ERIK BLISS HELIX 100

13 CHARLIE HU POWAY 99

14 RICHARD DANDLIKER BISHOP'S 95

15 MICHAEL NASSIR LA JOLLA 94

16 JOEY WONG HELIX 93

17 tie DAN GEHLHAAR GOMPERS 89

17 tie JOE LIN MADISON 89

17 tie DENNIS RIDDLE POWAY 89

17 tie YUICHI TAMANO UNIVERSITY CITY 89

17 tie MING WU HELIX 89

22 DAVID LIN HELIX 86

23 tie MATTHEW AUD CRAWFORD 83

23 tie BRIAN SNYDER POWAY 83

25 tie STEVE ENGLEMAN UNIVERSITY CITY 82

25 tie TRAVIS WILSON GOMPERS 82

Top Student on Each Team

ACADEMY OF OUR LADY OF PEACE ANN NANALE

BISHOP'S

CRAWFORD

FRANCIS PARKER

GOMPERS

GROSSMONT

HELIX HOOVER LA JOLLA

MADISON

MIRA MESA

MONTE VISTA

ORANGE GLEN

PATRICK HENRY

POWAY UNIVERSITY CITY

UNIVERSITY OF SAN DIEGO VISTA

RICHARD DANDLIKER BRAD FIELDS

BILL CARROLL

SETH PADOWITZ BEN GIESE

ERIK BLISS

YOUNGSUK KIM MICHAEL JABLECKI JOE LIN

EMMANUEL JAY NARVAEZ BRETT THIEL

STEVE PALM

BRUCE WOLLMAN

DENNIS RIDDLE

STEVE ENGLEMAN

ANDREW CARROLL

ERIC PROSSER

(May 18, 1987)