

Winners of the 24th Annual High School Honors Mathematics Contest

May 18, 1981

The winners of the 24th Annual High School Honors Mathematics Contest were announced Saturday night (May 16) at an awards ceremony held at the University of California, San Diego.

The contest is jointly sponsored by the UC San Diego Department of Mathematics, the Greater San Diego Mathematics Council, the California Mathematics Council- Southern Section, and the Departments of Education of San Diego City and County.

The contest was held May 9. The winning teams in order of finish were: City Schools Division--Clairemont, Mission Bay and La Jolla; County Schools Division-- Helix, Poway and San Dieguito; Small Schools Division-- Bishop's, Gompers and Hoover. Individual winners were: Geoff Canyon of Helix High School (first), Shawn McCarty of Poway High School (second), Tony Lee of Crawford High School and Scott Ugoretz of La Jolla High School (tied for third), and Ariel Navarro of Mira Mesa High School (fifth).

The contest is in the form of a two-part examination, with each part lasting 1-1/2 hours. Students participate as members of teams sent by their high school.

(May 18, 1981) For more information contact: Paul Lowenberg, 452-3120

24th ANNUAL HIGH SCHOOL HONORS MATHEMATICS CONTEST May 9, 1981

TEAM WINNERS

CITY COUNTY SMALL SCHOOLS

- 1. Clairemont (303) Helix (308) Bishop's (194)
- 2. Mission Bay (302) Poway (256) Gompers (176)
- 3* La Jolla (301) San Dieguito (244) Hoover (151)

INDIVIDUAL WINNERS

- # Name School I II total
- 1 Geoff Canyon Helix 81 83 164
- 2 Shawn McCarty Poway 73 90 163
- 3 Tony Lee Crawford 75 85 160

Scott Usoretz La Jolla 79 81 160

5 Ariel Navarro Mira Mesa 70 85 155

6 Jim Atkinson La Jolla 65 83 148

7 Victor Romano Campers 72 73 145

8 Steve Aronson Torrey Pines 59 80 139

Tod Klinger Mission Bay 59 80 139

10 Seth Jones Patrick Henry 68 70 138

11 Kenneth White Mission say 51 85 136

12 Karen White Mission Bay 67 65 132

13 Bill Hunt Hoover 68 60 128

14 Andy Conner Campers 50 75 125

Sean Moriarty Point Loma 56 69 125

16 Thomas Steketee Clairemont 65 59 124

17 Eric Wong Mission Bay 60 60 120

18 Alex Medvinsky Crawford 58 59 117

19 Lisa Martini San Diego 47 69 116

20 Kevin Lattery Helix 60 53 113

21 Ben Backus La Jolla 51 60 111

22 Kent Brink Mission Bay 65 45 110

23 John Cusack Castle Park 59 50 109

24 Bill Hamlin Point Loma 63 45 108

25 Tom Trotta Vista 51 55 106

PARTICIPATION: 135 students representing 27 schools