

Diana Deutsch, Russell Doolittle, George Feher, Robert Hessler, Robert Petersdorf, David Woodruff elected fellows of American Association for the Advancement of Science

June 23, 1986

Media Contact: Susan Pollock, 452-3120

SIX UCSD SCHOLARS RECOGNIZED FOR CONTRIBUTIONS TO SCIENCE

Six faculty members of the University of California, San Diego, have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

UCSD scholars named were Diana Deutsch, research psychologist in the Center for Human Information Processing; Russell F. Doolittle, professor of chemistry; George Feher, professor of physics; Robert R. Hessler, professor of biological oceanography in the Marine Biology Research Division at Scripps Institution of Oceanography; Robert G. Petersdorf, M.D., vice chancellor for health sciences and dean of the UCSD School of Medicine; and David Woodruff, associate professor of biology.

AAAS recognized 287 scientists and engineers this year for their "distinguished efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications."

Deutsch was cited for "imaginative theory and research in auditory perception and information processing, in particular for distinguished scholarship in music perception and the psychology of music." She is the founding editor of Music Perception, an interdisciplinary journal of the perceptual and cognitive processes involved in listening to and performing music.

Doolittle was recognized for "studies of fibrinogen and other plasma proteins that have contributed significantly to the understanding of the structure and evolution of proteins." He was elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences in 1984 and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1985. He is considered a leading authority on protein evolution.

Feher's recognition came for "inventing the technique of electron nuclear double resonance (a sophisticated method for studying the resonances of atomic nuclei), and for contributions to understanding primary processes in bacterial photosynthesis." He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a recipient of the 1976 Oliver E. Buckley Solid State Physics Prize and the 1982 American Physical Society Biophysics Prize.

AAAS selected Hessler for "his studies of crustacean morphology (form and structure) and deep-sea biology." Hessler, who also recently was elected a member of the Royal Physiographical Society of;Lund (Sweden), is a leading biologist in research and exploration of marine-life communities living in the vicinity of hot water vents on the deep-ocean floor. He has contributed substantially to the understanding of the ecology and distribution of deep-water animals.

Petersdorf was cited for his significant contributions to academic medicine. He is a recognized national leader in health care, medical education and research. His specialty is internal medicine, with a focus on infectious disease. Petersdorf is editor of "Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine", one of the premier textbooks used today, and has headed most of the influential professional societies in medicine, including the American College of Physicians, the Association of American Physicians and is the incoming president of the Association of American Medical Colleges.

Woodruff's citation reads: "for contributions to (the understanding of) the genetics and evolution of molluscs, including the taxonomically difficult land snails, Cerion, and (certain) freshwater snails." In April, he was elected a fellow of the Linnean Society of London. His chief research interest is genetic biogeography, the role of population ecology and genetics in determining the distribution and variability of animal populations and their evolution.

The recent election brings UCSD's total number of AAAS fellows to 35.

(June 23, 1986)