

## Commencement ceremonies to be held

## June 2, 1987

Media Contact: Sandra Garrett, 534-3120

UCSD COMMENCEMENT CEREMONIES TO BE HELD JUNE 14

Commencement ceremonies for more than 2,600 undergraduate and graduate students will be held at the University of California, San Diego on Sunday, June 14. Four of UCSD's five colleges and the Division of Graduate Studies will hold separate ceremonies.

Commencement ceremonies for the UCSD School of Medicine will be held the week before, on Sunday, June 7, at 11 a.m., on the lawn west of the Biomedical Library. Dr. Gladden V. Elliott, immediate past president of the California Medical Association, will address the graduating class of 120 physicians.

The June 14 ceremonies begin at 9 a.m. when Muir College holds its commencement at the south end of Third College Field, west of the Third College Humanities Building. Dr. John B. West, professor of physiology at the UCSD School of Medicine, will be the guest speaker. West led the 1981 American Medical Research Expedition that scaled Mt. Everest and serves on the National Academy of Sciences Committee on Space Biology and Medicine.

Awards will include the Alumni Association Outstanding Muir Senior Award, the Muir Scholar Award and the Muir Outstanding Teaching Award. The recipients of these awards will not be announced until the commencement ceremony. David Shanberg has been named winner of the Joel Dean Award in management science by the economics department.

At 10:30 a.m. Earl Warren College will hold its commencement on the south lawn of the Humanities/ Undergraduate Library Building. Dr. Robert A. Nemiroff, professor of psychiatry at the UCSD School of Medicine and director of the Residency Training Program, will be the guest speaker.

Several awards will be presented including the Provost's Scholarship Award, Dean's Service Award, Oceanids' Service Award, the Alumni Association Outstanding Warren Senior Award and the Warren College Instructor of the Year Award. Recipients of these awards will be announced at commencement. Andrew H. Marcus has been named winner of the chemistry department's Harold C. Urey Award.

The Division of Graduate Studies will hold its commencement in Mandeville Auditorium at noon. Philosophy professor Frederick A. Olafson will give the commencement address to approximately 90 of the 350 graduates in the master's and Ph.D. programs participating in the ceremony.

The Revelle College commencement begins at 2 p.m. on the south lawn of the Humanities/Undergraduate Library Building. The commencement address will be given by James R. Arnold, the Harold C. Urey professor of chemistry and director of the California Space Institute. Mark Patrick Diamond has been chosen as the student speaker to address the senior class.

Several Revelle seniors will be receiving awards including Stephen David Loren, winner of the Joseph E. Mayer Award for Outstanding Chemistry Research; Todd Curry, winner of the economics department's Seymour Harris Award; Regina Seen Won Kim, winner of the Oceanids' Outstanding Service Award; Ira Steven Rubenstein, winner of the Alumni Association Service Award and David Masakazu Shinmei, winner of the Revelle College Outstanding Leadership Award.

Provost's Academic Excellence Awards go to John Elliott Cook III in electrical engineering, Patrick Robert Dahl for biochemistry and cell biology, Gregory Andrew Dolge in anthropology, Alba Minerva Garcia for mechanical engineering, Susan Stasia Geanacou in applied mathematics and John Joseph Steskal for history and general biology.

Outstanding Faculty Award winners are Richard E. Friedman, professor of literature, and Robert A. Swanson, professor of physics. The Outstanding Staff Award will go to Edward P. Wade, an academic counselor.

The final commencement ceremony of the day is for Third College on the Third College Field, west of the Third College Humanities Building, at 3 p.m. The commencement speaker will be Yvonne Brathwaite Burke, a member of the UC Board of Regents and an attorney in Los Angeles. Burke was the first woman and first black person to serve on the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors. In 1972 she was the first black woman ever to be elected to the U.S. House of Representatives from California, where she served six years. She also served six years in the California State Assembly.

Award winners at Third College include: Outstanding Faculty: Edward Reynolds, professor of history; Outstanding Senior: Dianna Ferguson; Provost's Award for academic achievement: Christina Accomando; Dean's Award for leadership and scholarship: Susan Mason; Oceanids' Award: Lynn Sugamura; UCSD Alumni Award: Anthony Giambone, and Third College Alumni Award: Jeff Jones.

Third College recipients of campus wide departmental awards include: the A.I. Hallowel Award for the outstanding student in anthropology to Sheila Clark; the biology department's outstanding student in ecology, behavior and evolution award to Betty Marie Gilbow, and the outstanding student in microbiology award to Khoosheh Khameneian. The Sanford A. Lakoff Award for the outstanding senior thesis in political science will go to Lisa Brughera-Jones.

(June 2, 1987)