

Commencement honoring UCSD graduate students

May 31, 1966

A commencement reception honoring the University of California, San Diego graduates of 1966, will be held from 2:00 to 4:00 p.m. Sunday, June 19, at University House, 2651 Greentree Lane, La Jolla.

Chancellor and Mrs. John S. Galbraith will serve as hosts at the reception which will take the place of formal commencement activities on the campus. The reception will honor the largest group of candidates, all graduate students, ever to receive degrees from UCSD. There are 63 graduates. Twenty-nine will receive the degree of Doctor of Philosophy, 30 will receive the Master of Science degree, and 4 will receive the Master of Arts degree.

Thirty-three of the graduates completed work toward their degrees during the fall quarter, 7 completed their work during the winter quarter, and 23 completed their work during the spring quarter. Last year the graduating class numbered 38 and in 1964 the number was 32.

The first formal commencement exercise for the San Diego campus is being planned for the spring of 1968 when the first freshmen to enter classwork at UCSD will graduate as part of the University's Centennial Class.

All administrative officers and UCSD faculty members have been invited to the reception as well as all graduate students and their husbands or wives, and the parents of the graduating students. Heads of other San Diego County institutions of higher learning have also been invited.

The fall quarter graduates include:

Maris Abolins, Dilip Bhadra, Laurence Campbell, Melvin Jensen, Richard Morse, Thomas O'Neil, David Rosenwald, Ram Varma, and Nicim Zagury: Ph.D. in Physics.

David Chapman and Roger Lewis: Ph.D. in Marine Biology.

Lewis Cohen and Kent Condie: Ph.D. in Earth Sciences.

Calvin Daetwyler, Jr., Richard Ford, Brent Gallagher, Ronald Gibbs, Abraham Golik, and Hans Veeh: Ph.D. in Oceanography.

Merrill Goldberg: M.A. in Mathematics.

Gregory Benford, Herbert Bernstein, Thomas Delmer, William Easton, Claude Horton, Jr., James Lukens, Merrill Maple, James McElroy, Allan Palmer, and Om Sharma: M.S. in Physics.

Donald Lynn and Hellmuth Sievers: M.A. in Oceanography.

Johanna Snyder: M.S. in Chemistry.

The winter quarter graduates include:

Wallace Tucker: Ph.D. in Physics.

Thomas Crocker and Bryce Elkins: M.A. in Mathematics.

Jacquelin Miller, Jose Monteiro, Daniel Rodrigues, and Jack Simmons: M.S. in Oceanography.

The spring quarter graduates include:

Daniel Morris and Michael Showe: Ph.D. in Biology.

Jack Dymond and Bill Holland: Ph.D. in Oceanography.

Allan Jacobson and William Wilson: Ph.D. in Physics.

Paul Pushkar: Ph.D. in Earth Sciences.

Stanley Tick: Ph.D. in Literature.

David Norton: Ph.D. in Philosophy.

Thomas Gelinske: M.A. in Philosophy.

Guido Baccaglini, Robert Cavalleri, Louis de Jerphanion, Herbert Huppert, and Lewis Leibowitz: M.S. in Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering Sciences.

Richard Maxson and Ray Weiss: M.S. in Earth Sciences.

Peter Hacker and Ovind Grenness: M.S. in Oceanography.

Sidney Coon, Laurence Littenberg, Daniel Schwartz, and Charles Walmsley: M.S. in Physics.

(5/31/66)