National Societies elect Drs. Mayer, Matthias and Munk

JCSanDiego ELEAS

June 2, 1965

Three prominent scientists at the University of California, San Diego have recently been honored by election into national scientific societies.

Dr. Maria Goeppert Mayer and Dr. Bernd T. Matthias, both Professors of Physics, have been elected Fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Dr. Walter H. Munk, Professor of Geophysics, has been elected a member of the American Philosophical Society.

Dr. Mayer, who shared the 1963 Nobel Prize for Physics with Eugene Wigner of Princeton and Hans Jensen of Heidelberg, came to UCSD in 1960. She is a theoretical physicist of worldwide renown and has made important contributions to the fields of quantum electrodynamics, spectroscopy, statistical mechanics, crystal physics, and especially to nuclear physics.

Dr. Matthias was appointed to the staff at UCSD in 1961 after 11 years as a member of the technical staff of the Bell Telephone Laboratories in Murray Hill, New Jersey. He is an expert in the field of ferroelectricity, superconductivity, and ferromagnetism. His curiosity about superconductivity was aroused in 1950 by the late Nobel laureate, Enrico Fermi. At that time, less than 30 superconducting metals had been discovered. In 1963, more than 500 superconductors were known to science, and most were discovered by Dr. Matthias and co-workers at the Bell Laboratories and at UCSD. He currently serves as the Director of the Institute for the Study of Matter which is located on the UCSD campus.

Dr. Munk, during the past few years, has pioneered in the use of high-speed electronic computing machines for analyzing geophysical data. Many scientists consider him to be the leading physical oceanographer of our time. His interest has gradually broadened, however, into all aspects of the study of our Earth as a planet-- not only the oceans but the atmosphere above and the solid earth beneath. Dr. Munk serves as Associate Director of the Statewide Institute of Geophysics and Planetary Physics which has a branch on the UCSD campus.

All three scientists are members of the National Academy of Sciences, the nation's foremost scientific body.