

Winners of 25th annual Honors High School Mathematics Contest held at UCSD

May 14, 1982

FOR RELEASE SUNDAY, MAY 16

Teams from La Jolla High School, Helix High School and Gompers Secondary School were named winners of the 25th annual Honors High School Mathematics Contest during a banquet held Saturday night (May 15) at the University of California, San Diego.

The contest, sponsored by the UCSD mathematics department, the Greater San Diego Mathematics Council, the California Mathematics Council and the Departments of Education of San Diego City and County, was held May 8 at UCSD.

The competition is designed for the top mathematics students in San Diego City and County. Students participate in the contest as members of teams. They take a three-hour long, two-part examination designed to check both their knowledge and reasoning ability.

The first place teams were La Jolla High, Helix High, and Gompers Secondary in the City, County and Small schools divisions respectively. These schools were followed by Mission Bay, San Dieguito, and Hoover as the second place winners and Patrick Henry, Monte Vista and Bishop's in third place.

The top 25 individuals were given special awards. These winners included Tony Lee of Crawford and Michael Lin of La Jolla (tie for first place), Tod Klinger of Mission Bay, Alan Hu of La Jolla, Allison Allgaier of Helix, and Andy Conner of Gompers.

(May 14, 1982) For more information contact: Paul Lowenberg, 452-3120

25th ANNUAL HIGH SCHOOL HONORS MATHEMATICS CONTEST May 8, 1982

Participation: 147 students representing 26 schools

TEAM WINNERS

City County Small

Ist La Jolla (373) Helix (386) Gompers (147)

2nd Mission Bay (350) San Dieguito (294) Hoover (145)

3rd Patrick Henry (296) Monte Vista (283) Bishop's (134)

INDIVIDUAL WINNERS

Name School I li Total

I Tony Lee Crawford 85 100 185

Michael Lin La Jolla 90 95 185

3 Tod Klinger Mission Bay 90 90 180

4 Alan Hu La Jolla 77 92 169

5 Allison Allgaier Helix 91 75 166

6 Andy Conner Gompers 64 95 159

7 Kenjiro Kosaki La Jolla 85 65 150

8 Alene Allgaier Helix 80 60 140

9 Robert Bezverkov Mission Bay 90 45 135

10 Seth Jones Patrick Henry 60 73 133

David Kosbie La Jolla 78 55 133

12 Michael Hohmeyer Torrey Pines 56 70 126

John Kesapradist Patrick Henry 61 65 126

Gregory Lettau Monte Vista 81 45 126

15 Karen White Mission Bay 85 35 120

16 Triet Tran Hoover 63 55 118

17 David Boe Grossmont 82 35 117

18 Richard Doherty Clairemont 57 55 112

Shuk-Yee Ho Bishop's 77 35 112

Karen Morgan Helix 77 35 112

21 Todd Curry Helix 66 40 106

Scott Seaton San Dieguito 76 30 106

23 Alan Ho Crawford 65 40 105

24 Noriko Hasegawa Madison 68 35 103

25 Richard Young Patrick Henry 66 35 101