

Winners of high school honors mathematics contest named

May 15, 1980

HOLD FOR RELEASE SUNDAY, MAY 18

Steven Siogo of Clairemont High School has been named winner of the 23rd Annual High School Honors Mathematics Contest sponsored by the University of California, San Diego, the Greater San Diego Mathematics Council, the California Mathematics Council and the San Diego City and County Departments of Education.

Geoffrey Canyon of Helix High School was named second place winner and Ariel Navarro of Mira Mesa High School won third place honors. The top 25 finishers each received an award.

La Jolla High School was the team winner in the City Schools Division of the competition, Helix High School in the County Division and Coronado High School in the Small Schools Division.

Awards were presented at a banquet held Saturday night (May 17) in the Muir College cafeteria on the UC San Diego campus.

Ninety-five students representing 19 different high schools entered the competition which was held Saturday, May 10.

The Honors Mathematics Contest is a two-part exam, with each part lasting 1-1/2 hours. The first part contains 25 multiple choice questions, while the second part has four problems which require a written solution. The exam is designed to test the students' ability to use their mathematical knowledge and reasoning skill.

Dr. John J. Wavrik, associate professor of mathematics at UC San Diego, served as contest coordinator. The complete list of the team and individual winners follows:

For more information contact: Paul Lowenberg, 452-3120

(May 15, 1980)