

Commencement Reception for UCSD Graduating Students

May 27, 1964

A commencement reception honoring the University of California, San Diego graduates of 1964, will be held from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m., Saturday, June 6, at University House, 7510 Pepita Way, La Jolla.

Chancellor and Mrs. Herbert York will serve as hosts at the reception which takes the place of formal commencement activities on the campus.

There are 32 graduates. Fourteen will receive the degree of Doctor of Philosophy and 18 will receive the Master of Science degree. Eleven of the graduates completed their work in January. Last year the graduating class numbered 12.

The June graduates include:

Stephen E. Calvert, Robert F. Dill and Gaylord R. Miller, Doctor of Philosophy in Oceanography.

Max Luming, Sharashchandra Patil, John G. Pierce, and Chindhu S. Warke, Doctor of Philosophy in Physics.

Richard Phillips, Doctor of Philosophy in Earth Sciences.

Miss Judith Wegman, Doctor of Philosophy in Biology.

Peter V. Moffett and Bernard L. Oostdam, Master of Science degree in Oceanography.

Roger A. Isaacson, Allan S. Jacobson, Shigeyuki Miyashita, Richard M. More, Tomitaro Nagashima, Thomas M. O'Neil, Stephen D. Rearwin, Bernard G. Silbernagel, William A. Wilson, and Nicim Zagury, Master of Science degree in Physics.

The January graduates are:

Harold Berkson, George W. Harvey, Michael E. Pilson, and Peter B. Taylor, Doctor of Philosophy degree in Marine Biology.

Ludwig W. Bruch, Doctor of Philosophy degree in Physics.

Gary L. Dorer, James S. Drudek, and Vemuri L. Narasimham, Master of Science degree in Physics.

Robert W. Owen, Jr., and John R. Ritter, Master of Science degree in Oceanography.

Phillip R. Sloan, Master of Science degree in Marine Biology.