

David Hendrickson, professor of chemistry elected as Humboldt Award Recipient

May 15, 1993

Media Contact: Warren R. Froelich, (619) 534-8564 UCSD CHEMIST ELECTED AS HUMBOLDT AWARD RECIPIENT

David Hendrickson, a professor of chemistry at the University of California, San Diego, has been elected a recipient of the Humboldt Research Award in recognition for his past research achievements.

The award from the Humboldt Research Foundation in Germany is offered each year to "internationally recognized U.S. scientists" working in interdisciplinary fields involving science and mathematics.

Award winners are offered stipends to conduct research in Germany at one or more universities.

Hendrickson, who joined the UCSD faculty in 1988, said he will spend about five months at the University of Mainz, and several other Germany universities. He was nominated for the award by Philipp Gutlich, a German chemist at the University of Mainz.

Last May, Hendrickson was ranked among the world's 50 most cited chemists, according to the Institute for Scientific Information. The ranking was based on the number of times research articles were cited in scientific journals from 1984-1991.

Among other things, Hendrickson has been studying so-called "electron transfer reactions," or how electrons are shuffled from one chemical to another, under varying environmental conditions. Such reactions in living organisms are important for understanding fundamental biological functions including photosynthesis and respiration.

As an indication of the field's importance, Rudolph A. Marcus of the California Institute of Technology was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1992 for developing the theory of electron transfer reactions in chemical systems.

Hendrickson, an inorganic chemist, received his bachelor's degree in chemistry from UCLA, his Ph.D. from UC Berkeley, and a postdoctoral appointment from the California Institute of Technology. Subsequently, he joined the faculty of the University of Illinois, Urbana, where he was awarded the Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship, the Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Fellowship, and the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Senior Faculty Fellowship.

(May 15, 1993)