

## Four UCSD physics professors recognized for achievements

June 7, 1999

Media Contact: Jan Jennings (619) 822-1684, injenningsgucsd.edu

FOUR UCSD PHYSICS PROFESSORS RECOGNIZED FOR ACHIEVEMENTS

Four professors in the Department of Physics at the University of California, San Diego are being recognized for current and lifetime achievements. They are Oreste Piccioni, Geoffrey Burbidge, Terence T. L. Hwa and Dimitri Basov.

Professor emeritus Piccioni has received the 1998 Matteucci Medal from the Accademia Nazionale Delle Scienze of Italy for his seminal contributions to elementary particle physics. The awarding of the Matteucci Medal was instituted by the King of Italy in 1870. Piccioni is the medal recipient in the 217th academic year of the Italian academy and is praised "for his scientific stature and the relevance of his discoveries."

Professor Geoffrey Burbidge will be awarded the 1999 Catherine Wolfe Bruce Gold Medal by the Astronomical Society of the Pacific at its July 1-7 Summer Scientific Meeting in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. The medal is awarded for a lifetime of distinguished contributions to the field of astronomy. This is the highest honor awarded by the society.

Associate professor Hwa has been named a Fellow of the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation. Hwa's \$33,000 award is going toward study of the Statistical Mechanics of Biopolymer Association over a 12-month period which began April, 1999. Hwa will be promoted to a full professor at UCSD effective July 1, 1999.

Assistant professor Basov is a grant recipient of the Faculty Early Career Development Program of the National Science Foundation. He will receive \$85,000 over five years to support research on Superconductivity in Anisotropic Intermetallic Compounds. The Faculty Early Career Development Program was established to emphasize the importance the NSF places on the early development of academic careers dedicated to the discovery process and the excitement of research, enhanced by inspired teaching and enthusiastic learning.

Basov also has been named a Cottrell Scholar by the Research Corporation, a foundation for the advancement of science and technology, and will receive \$50,000 to support his projects. He is one of 18 scholars nationwide to receive the award which honors beginning faculty in the sciences who excel in both teaching and research. The award is named after chemist Frederick Gardner Cottrell who founded the Tucson-based Research Corporation.

(June 7, 1999)