

## E. Margaret Burbidge, Aaron Cicourel, Roy D'Andrade, Alan Hofmann, S. Jonathan Singer and Audrey Terras elected Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

## January 15, 1982

Six faculty members at the University of California, San Diego have been elected Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) during the association's recent meeting in Washington, D. C.

The six are: E. Margaret Burbidge, director of the Center for Astrophysics and Space Sciences and current president of AAAS; Aaron V. Cicourel, professor of sociology; Roy G. D'Andrade, professor of anthropology; Alan F. Hofmann, Drofessor of medicine; S. Jonathan Singer, professor of biology, and Audrey A. Terras, associate professor of mathematics.

A Fellow of AAAS is described as "a member whose efforts of behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished."

Committees representing the various disciplines within AAAS, the executive officer, or other Fellows of the organization may make nominations for Fellows to the AAAS council.

AAAS is the nation's largest scientific organization with more than 130,000 members.

For more information contact: Paul Lowenberg, 452-3120

(January 15, 1982)