Dr. Frederick Wall named chairman of UOCSS

February 4, 1969

Dr. Frederick T. Wall, Vice Chancellor - Graduate Studies and Research at the University of California, San Diego, has been named Chairman of the newly formed Universities Organizing Committee for Space Sciences (UOCSS) created by the National Academy of Sciences.

The eleven-member committee was appointed by Frederick Seitz, President of the National Academy of Sciences, following nominations by representatives from 35 universities interested in forming a consortium to facilitate the participation of academic scientists in space research.

The Committee will serve the National Academy of Sciences as a national Board of Governors of the Lunar Science Institute in Houston, Texas. The formation of the Institute was announced by President Lyndon Johnson last March. It will provide a base in Houston for university scientists participating in the lunar exploration program.

The UOCSS will establish policy, review operations and budgets, and help advise the director of the Institute on the development of its program.

In addition to its specific concerns with the Lunar Science Institute, the new committee will draft plans for an association of universities that would construct and operate facilities for research, development, and education associated with space science and technology.

Dr. Wall joined the faculty at UCSD as Professor of Chemistry and Vice Chancellor Graduate Studies and Research in 1966. He was born in Minnesota and received a Ph.D. in Chemistry from the University of Minnesota in 1937.

He served on the chemistry faculty of the University of Illinois from 1937 to 1964. From 1950 through 1963 he served as Chairman of the University's Research Board and, from 1955 through 1963, he was also Dean of the Graduate College.

In 1964 he moved to the Santa Barbara campus of the University of California where he became Professor of Chemistry and Chairman of the department. During the 1965-66 academic year he was also Vice Chancellor for Research at UCSB.

Dr. Wall received the American Chemical Society Award in Pure Chemistry in 1945. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. His current research interests are primarily concerned with theoretical chemistry with particular reference to statistical mechanics and its applications to macromolecular systems.

Concerning the formation of the UOCSS, Dr. Wall said, "We hope that the committee can develop plans for a viable organization that will provide the universities of the nation with an opportunity to participate more fully in the space effort.

"The initial involvement of our universities will be rather modest and will be limited to the operation of the Lunar Science Institute," he said. "However, the kinds of things that we envision for the future are so substantial that

they would be beyond the reach of any single institution. It is our hope that the universities will be able to use the new organization to voice their collective opinions about space research activities, as they relate to the fulfillment of academic goals. It is in this spirit and with these ends in mind that I look forward to the work of the committee," Dr. Wall said.

Members of the UOCSS, in addition to Dr. Wall, are: Arthur D. Code, University of Wisconsin; Bruno J. Giletti, Brown University; W. E. Gordon, Rice University; Lucius Gregg, Northwestern University; A. Robert Kuthau, University of Virginia; Donald A. MacRae, University of Toronto; Henry Torrey, Rutgers University; Wolf Vishniac, University of Rochester; Ernest C. Pollard, Pennsylvania State University; and Albert L. Babb, University of Washington.

William W. Rubey, Director of the Lunar Science Institute and Professor of Geology and Geophysics at UCLA, will be an ex officio member.