

## UC Santa Barbara site of National Science Foundation institute for theoretical physics; Dr. Walter Kohn director of institute

## January 22, 1979

Taken by telephone from the Public Information Office at UC Santa Barbara 1/22/79

The University of California, Santa Barbara has received unanimous approval from the National Science Foundation Board as the site of its institute for theoretical physics it has been announced by University of California President David Saxon and UC Santa Barbara Chancellor Robert A. Huttenback.

At the same time Huttenback disclosed that the director of the institute will be Dr. Walter Kohn, professor of physics at the University of California, San Diego. Kohn, a member of the National Academy of Sciences, has been honored for his research in theoretical physics.

NSF will fund the institute with an initial five year grant which provides approximately \$1 million a year for the support of visiting scientists and for operating expenses.

The NSF institute will start functioning in September 1979, according to the authors of UCSB's successful application for the grant: physics professors James B. Hartle, Raymond F. Sawyer, Douglas J. Scalapino and Robert L. Sugar. The facility is expected to become "one of the leading centers for theoretical physics in the world," they commented.

Purpose of the institute, according to the UCSB physicists, will be to bring together distinguished theoretical physicists from throughout the world to collaborate on major problems in their disciplines. About 30 visiting physicists will be in attendance at any one time.

Visiting physicists will conduct research in areas which overlap the traditional subfields of theoretical physics, primarily condensed matter physics, high energy physics, nuclear physics, general relativity and astrophysics.

The institute, "will serve to stimulate the continued flow of new ideas by bringing together physicists from different locations and age groups," the UCSB physicists said.

Visitors ranging from postdoctoral fellows to full professors will stay at the institute for periods ranging from six months to five years. Lectures will be given and contact with experimental work will be maintained through seminars and regular participation by experimentalists.

An advisory board of prominent physicists will assist the director in setting institute policy and direction.

Chancellor Huttenback noted that UCSB was selected by NSF as the institute site after a competition that involved many of the countries leading universities.

(January 22, 1979)