



## Announcement of 27th annual High School Honors Mathematics contest co-sponsored by the Mathematics Department

## May 17, 1984

FOR RELEASE SATURDAY, MAY 19, 1984

Mathematic teams from La Jolla, Helix and Gompers High Schools received top honors among all city and county high schools last night at the awards ceremony for the 27th annual High School Honors Mathematics contest at the University of California, San Diego. The award ceremony honored the top teams in three categories as well as the top individual winners of the contest which was held May 12 at UCSD.

The top two individual winners of the three-hour exam both came from La Jolla High. They are Michael Lin with a top score of 149 out of a possible 200, and Jonathan Gass with a score of 127 on the exam. Lin and Gass were followed by Steve Allsing of Helix High and Ray Flournoy of Madison High who tied for third place with a score of 117. Steve Hill of Helix High took fifth place with a score of 112.

The top three teams in the City Schools Division were La Jolla High, first, Point Loma High, second, and Crawford High, third. Helix High was first in the County Schools Division, San Dieguito High was second and La Jolla Country Day High was third. Gompers High was first in the Small Schools Division, San Diego High was second and Clairemont was third.

The honors contest is sponsored by the Department of Mathematics at UCSD, the Greater San Diego Mathematics Council, the California Mathematics Council and the San Diego City and County Departments of Education. It is held annually to identify and recognize students who enjoy mathematics and who have a high degree of mathematical reasoning ability. Students participate in the contest as a member of a team of five or six from their high schools.

The contest, which was begun by Convair, has been held at UCSD for the past 12 years. The two-part examination is written and administered by the members of the UCSD mathematics department. According to Dr. John J. Wavrik, professor of mathematics at UCSD who serves as contest coordinator, the first part consists of 25 multiple choice questions while the second part contains four problems which require written solutions. The students have one-and-a-half hours for each part.

Other top individual award winners honored last night were: 6th, Michael Flatte of La Jolla; 7th, Ngoc M. Vuong of Hoover; 8th, Sam Wong of Crawford; 9th, Lisa Korf of Point Loma; tied for 10th, Jeffrey Monroe of San Diego, John Tessmer of La Jolla Country Day and David Driggers of Helix; 13th, Risa Ohkawa of La Jolla; tied for 14th, John Firth of San Dieguito and Mark Sornson of La Jolla; 16th, Marc Cummings of San Dieguito; tied for 17th, Hong Nguyen of Crawford and Corey Powell of Gompers; tied for 19th, Theodore Lee of La Jolla and April Allgaier of Helix; 21st, Gretchen Ehlers of Helix; 22nd, Kevin Teuscher of San Dieguito; tied for 23rd, Donald Geddis of Gompers and Matthew Friedman of La Jolla Country Day, and 25th, Roger Miller of Fallbrook.

For further information contact: Dr. John J. Wavrik, 452-2626 or Paul W. West, 452-3120

(May 17, 1984)