

UCSD announces 1992 commencement awards and honors to outstanding grads

June 22, 1992

Contact: Alixandra Williams, University Communications, 534-3120

UCSD ANNOUNCES 1992 COMMENCEMENT AWARDS TO OUTSTANDING GRADS

Graduation ceremonies for five colleges at the University of California, San Diego were highlighted with the conferring of special awards and honors in addition to the more than 2,300 undergraduate degrees handed out Saturday, June 13 and Sunday, June 14.

The UCSD colleges conferring undergraduate degrees were Revelle, Muir, Third, Warren and Fifth. Fifth College, which enrolled its first undergraduate class in 1988, graduated its first senior class on June 13.

The Revelle College academic award winners are: Theresa Lynn Bradley, English and American Literature; Oliver Wynn Herndon, Biochemistry and Cell Biology; Renee Lynn Herstoff, Psychology; Laura Cochran Hoover, Russian and Soviet Studies and Delphine Juihoa Lee, Biochemistry and Cell Biology.

Revelle College seniors who won campuswide academic awards are: Jeffrey Rene Ostrick, the Shang-Keng Ma Award in Physics and Marcey Lynn Waters, the Harold C. Urey Award in Chemistry.

The UCSD Oceanids Award for Outstanding Service to the UCSD Community was given to Allison May Chung. The Revelle College Academic and Leadership Award was given to David Herbert Donovan. The UCSD Alumni Association Service Award was presented to Holly Anne Foust.

The Muir College academic award winners are: Timothy Charles Haeg, Philosophy; David Carl Heikkila, Theatre; Erik Odin Ulman, English/American Literature and Music, and Laura Franey, English/American Literature and History. Franey is the co- recipient of the UCSD Department of Literature Sigurd Burckhardt Prize. She also is the winner of a Mellon Fellowship.

Muir College seniors who won campuswide academic awards are: Evan Theodore Saulino, Chemistry and Biochemistry, the Joseph E. Mayer Award in Chemistry and Timothy Charles Haeg, the Eric Paul Allison Memorial Award in Philosophy. The Second Annual Undergraduate Research Paper Prize in Sociology was presented to Kimberly Holtz, Communication and Sociology. David Heikkila won the Jacob Bronowski Prize for Outstanding Senior in the Department of Theatre.

The UCSD Alumni Association Award was presented to Amy Vanderlinden, Political Science. The UCSD Oceanids Award was given to David Goldfarb, Psychology. Third College's Provost's Award for Highest Academic Achievement was given to Sean Michael Philpott, Microbiology/Biological Anthropology. Philpott also received the I. Irving Hallowell Award in Anthropology. Bryan Charles Bixler, Ecology, Behavior and Evolution, shared the Department of Biology Outstanding Achievement Award with Philpott. Taleen Shushan Simon, Economics, was awarded the Seymour Harris Prize in Econometrics. Robert Wayne Fogle-Figueroa, Literature and Writing, was the co-winner of the Department of Literature Burckhardt Prize. Joan C. Fullmer, History, was awarded the Armin Rappaport Prize in History.

The Third College Academic Advising Student Leadership Award was co-awarded to Milad Bozorgnia, Sociology and Marialuz Sevilla, Biochemistry. The Third College Dean's Award was shared by Eleonor Castillo, Political Science and Eugene Sung, Psychology. The Outstanding Senior Award was shared by Donna Arledge, Anthropology, and Jeffrey Yamaguchi, Economics. The Alumni Association honored Aldo Guerra, General Biology, and the UCSD Oceanids chose Jennifer Levin, Political Science, for her service to the UCSD community.

Warren College presented the following students with awards: Suk Yin Anita Sit, Biochemistry and Cell Biology, the Provost's Scholarship Award; Andres Eduardo del Rosal, Chemistry, and Kathleen Lund, Sociology, shared the Dean's Service Award for Outstanding Service to the Warren College Community and Eric Gordon Baugh, Mechanical Engineering, received the Michael Addison Award for Outstanding Research Paper in the Warren Scholar's Program.

Also, Kenneth Herbert Blackman, Quantitative Economics and Decision Science and Applied Mathematics, was awarded the Joel Dean Award for Excellence in Quantitative Economics and Decision Science; David Hui Ku, Molecular Biology, was awarded Biology's Outstanding Achievement Award in Molecular Biology; Young Suk Oh, Biochemistry and Cell Biology, was awarded the Outstanding Achievement Award in General Biology and Ashley Elizabeth Reynolds, Animal Physiology and Neuroscience, was presented with Biology's Outstanding Achievement Award in Animal Physiology and Neuroscience studies.

The Warren College recipients for the Oceanids and Alumni Association awards are Tricia Ann Henry and Esther Eleanore Broers, respectively.

Fifth College had the following award recipients: The Fifth College Ambassador Award went to Jason Ellis, Political Science, for academic excellence, worthwhile service and global perspective. The Oceanids Award was given to Tina Kaufman, Psychology. The Alumni Association award was presented to Margarita Rubalcava, Political Science.

(June 22, 1992)