

UCSanDiego ELEASE

York selected as one of the five winners for the 1962 Ernest Orlando Lawrence Memorial Award

April 11, 1962

Chancellor Herbert York of the San Diego campus of the University of California has been selected one of the five winners for 1962 of the Ernest Orlando Lawrence Memorial Award of the Atomic Energy Commission, Dr. Glenn T. Seaborg, Chairman of the Commission, announced in Washington today.

Dr. York was honored for "important contributions to our knowledge of elementary particles, and especially for leadership in applying atomic energy to the national defense."

Before his appointment as Chancellor of the San Diego campus in 1961, Dr. York served in Washington as Director of Defense Research and Engineering.

Other winners of the award were Dr. Andrew A. Benson, Department of Biophysics and Nuclear Medicine, Laboratory of Nuclear Medicine and Radiation Biology, University of California, Los Angeles; Dr. Richard P. Feynman, Professor of Theoretical Physics, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena; Dr. Herbert Goldstein, Professor of Nuclear Engineering, Columbia University, New York City; and Dr. Anthony L. Turkevich, Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of Chicago.

The Atomic Energy Commission established the award in December 1959, to perpetuate the memory of the late Dr. Ernest 0. Lawrence, inventor of the cyclotron and Director of the Radiation Laboratory, Berkeley, and Livermore, which bears his name. The Laboratory is operated under contract for the AEC by the University of California. Five U. S. scientists were named to receive the first Lawrence award in June 1960, and five more were honored in April 1961.

Authorized under section 157/B/3/ of the 1954 Atomic Energy Act, the award is made to not more than five recipients in any one year in the amount of not less than \$5,000 each and not more than a total of \$25,000. It is presented in the spring of the year to men and women not more than 45 years of age who are citizens of the United States and who have made recent, especially meritorious contributions to the development, use, or control of atomic energy in areas of all sciences related to atomic energy, including medicine and engineering.

Dr. York, 40, has made major scientific contributions in the fields of nuclear physics and electromagnetic isotope separations. He is co-discoverer of the pi-zero meson, one of the fundamental nuclear particles.

Dr. York will receive the award at a ceremony in Washington, D. C., on Monday, April 23.