

Six UCSD faculty members receive Guggenheim grants

April 4, 1975

Six faculty members at the University of California, San Diego are among 308 scholars, scientists and artists named to receive grants in 1975 by the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation.

The UCSD Guggenheim Fellows and their departments are Dr. Aaron V. Cicourel, professor of sociology; Dr. William A. Coles, assistant professor of applied physics and information science; Dr. Roy Harvey Pearce, professor of American literature and dean of graduate studies; Dr. Allen I. Selverston, assistant professor of biology; Dr. Marc J. Swartz, professor of anthropology, and Dr. Teddy G. Traylor, professor of chemistry.

The awardees were chosen from 2,819 applicants in the foundation's fifty-first annual competition.

The Guggenheim Fellowships are awarded on the basis of demonstrated accomplishment in the past and strong promise for the future. The great majority of fellows teach in American colleges and universities.

Leading all institutions with 15 faculty members chosen as Guggenheim fellows was the University of California, Berkeley. Tied for second were Harvard University and Stanford University with 14, followed by the University of California, Los Angeles and Columbia University who were tied with 10 each.

Some 88 schools were represented in the 1975 awards which totaled \$4,138,000. During its 51-year history the Foundation has granted more than 8,800 fellowships for a total of \$59 million.

For information contact Joan Rasmussen, 452-3120

(4/4/75)