

Math Contest results announced by Dr. Wavrik

May 25, 1976

Individual and team winners in the 19th annual High School Mathematics Contest were announced by Dr. John Wavrik, assistant professor of mathematics, at an awards banquet held Saturday at the University of California, San Diego.

The contest, held May 15 at UC San Diego, attracted 146 students representing 26 county-area high schools. Sponsors of the contest are the UC San Diego Department of Mathematics, the Greater San Diego Math Council and the Departments of Education of the San Diego City and County Schools.

Awards were given to the top three individuals and the top teams in three divisions comprised of city, county and independent schools.

First place honors in the city schools competition went to La Jolla High School, with Madison High School finishing second and Point Loma High School third. Helix High School took first in the county schools competition with San Dieguito High School placing second and Dana Hills High School third. In the independent schools competition, St. Augustine High School won first place and the Bishop's Schools second.

Jeff Mulligan of La Jolla High School was the first place individual winner, Benjamin Myers of Point Loma High School won second and Keith Thompson of Clairemont High School finished third.

The three-hour exam contained 25 multiple choice questions and four problems requiring written answers. The test, which was designed by Dr. Wavrik, covered algebra, trigonometry and geometry and included logic and probability problems.

The exam has been given by UC San Diego since 1971 with the cooperation of the Math Council, a confederation of individuals in education and industry who promote mathematics.

(May 25, 1976)