

UC San Diego Foundation makes Civis Universitatis awards

June 3, 1996

Media Contact: Pat JaCoby, 534-7404

UC SAN DIEGO FOUNDATION MAKES CIVIS UNIVERSITATIS AWARDS

Three Civis Universitatis awards will be presented by the UC San Diego Foundation during a June 14 dinner meeting to recognize significant volunteer and donor support of the University.

Named as recipients of the awards are the UCSD Medical Center Auxiliary, Foundation/Institutional Support; the Scripps Family, Individual Contributor, and Joseph W. Hibben, Outstanding UC San Diego Foundation Trustee.

The Auxiliary will be honored for its extraordinary support of the Medical Center for the past 29 years. "Through its philanthropic efforts," the Foundation noted, "the Auxiliary has helped sustain and enhance a wide variety of distinguished clinical programs to the benefit of UCSD, the San Diego region, and patients from throughout the world."

Accepting the award on behalf of the Auxiliary will be Chloe Moore, president.

Members of the Scripps family will be recognized for the many contributions made by descendants of James Mogg Scripps to Scripps Institution of Oceanography and to the University of California, San Diego. "For the past 93 years," the Foundation citation noted, "Scripps family members have provided crucial support for the institution's missions of research and education. It is a tribute to the family's vision that SIO has been recognized consistently as the premier institution of its kind."

On hand to accept the Civis Universitatis on behalf of the Scripps family will be Ellis Willson, Paul Scripps, Ellen Revelle Eckis and Thomas Scripps.

Hibben will be cited for his dedication to the University and his leadership as a trustee of the Foundation. "As a generous benefactor, he and Mrs. Hibben have endowed a chair in Space Science and Education and have made gifts to many parts of the campus," his citation noted.

The awards will be presented by Marjorie Caserio, UCSD Chancellor, and Monroe Trout, UC San Diego Foundation president.

The name, Civis Universitatis, meaning "citizen of the world," derives from ancient times when universities actually were small, distinct communities that were isolated from towns. Citizenship in these communities was highly valued and achievable only after long years of scholarship.

Previous winners in the Foundation/Institution category were the Powell Foundation, 1993; the Weingart Foundation, 1994, and the ARCS Foundation, 1995. Individual Contributor awardees were Marianne McDonald, 1993; Theodore Gildred, 1994, and Ellen Revelle Eckis, 1995. Outstanding Trustee awards went to Herbert Kunzel, 1993; Maurice Kaplan, 1994, and Richard Levi, 1995.