

Awards Presented at UC San Diego for Diversity Support

February 15, 2007

Pat JaCoby

Twenty-four individuals and 12 departments and units were recognized in a ceremony on Valentine's Day at the University of California, San Diego for their outstanding contributions in support of the university's commitment to diversity.

"Diversity matters at UCSD," Chancellor Marye Anne Fox told the audience of hundreds. "And our award recipients represent a diverse range of disciplines-from business affairs and marine sciences to ethnic studies and structural engineering.

"We have many university groups working to address and improve matters of diversity," the Chancellor noted, "including the Committee on the Status of Women, the Chancellor's Advisory Committee on Gender Identity and Sexual Orientation Issues, the Diversity Council, and the UCSD staff associations. The UCSD community and external community also benefit from the exemplary work and programs offered by the campus community centers-the Cross Cultural Center, the Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transsexual Resource Center, and the Women's Center."

Recipients of the 12th annual UCSD Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action and Diversity Awards Program included eight units and individuals nominated by Vice Chancellors. They were: Student Affairs and Admissions unit of the Office of Graduate Studies-Academic Affairs; Anthony Singleton, Business Affairs; Information and Financial Systems Group, External Affairs; Patrick Weiss, Healthcare; Joyce Felder, Health Sciences; Russell Chapman, Marine Sciences; Fred West, Resource Management and Planning, and Student Life Department, Student Affairs.

Universitywide recipients included Leanne Besachio, Dr. Shelia Broyles, James Burns, Dr. Joseph Caperna and the Owen Clinic, Helen Doakes, Kenneth Duff, Jessica Chapin-Geipel, Nicole Jackson, Martin Kaplan and Vanessa Mapula, Saundra J. Kirk, Steven Lau, Dr. Mark Lawson, Erin Malone, Blanca R. Melendrez, Chuck Morgan, Jocelyn Pacheco, Paradorn Thiel, Patrick Weiss, Academic Enrichment Program, Auxiliary and Plant Services, Human Resources/Auxiliary and Plant Services, Chancellor's Committee on the Status of Women, Early Academic Outreach Program, Faculty Search Committee, Department of Ethnic Studies, Infant Special Care Center and Senior Behavioral Health.

A review committee comprised of representatives from each Vice Chancellor area evaluated the nominations and recommended the award recipients.

Media contact: Pat JaCoby, 858 534-7404